Does it get through?

Posted: March 5, 2009 in Youth Ministry
Tags: ,

The reason I am starting this blog is that sometimes I just need to get my thoughts out. Hopefully, my thoughts, questions, concerns about youth ministry will help other Youth Pastors.  I heard a great analogy…doing ministry is like spitting into the wind.  Many times I feel like that is VERY true.  And the thing is…we do it over and over again.

Last night was a rough night…for me at least. I had prepared a talk that I had hoped would reach our unsaved students.  Giving them the opportunity to accept Jesus as their personal Lord and Saviour.  Throughout my talk,our 8th grade students, who think they are a kings and queens of the universe, were laughing, talking, throwing things, just being plain rude. I couldn’t help but that that they were so distracting that nothing was getting through to the other 40+ kids sitting in our youth center.  I had a talk later that evening with one of my greatest leaders (who also happens to be my wife) about a talk she had with one of her small groups students. Her life was impacted by the lesson. She was making a decision to let Jesus handle her struggles.

My over all thoughts? Even when it seems like nothing is getting through…Jesus can get through to anyone, at any time, through any circumstance.  My words are nothing, Jesus’ words are everything.

Comments
  1. M. A. says:

    Amen. We must never assume we know what the Holy Spirit is doing until we have found evidence of what he has done.

    I would add that doing ministry can be like throwing spaghetti noodles on the wall. Some of them stick, while others just bounce right off.

Leave a Reply

