One of Many Hats

Posted: March 15, 2009 in Youth Ministry
Tags: ,

Youth pastors wear many different hats.  One of them is the hat of Leadership Development. I am quickly learning the importance of developing a healthy leadership team.

Why do we need healthy leaders? Because leaders can only take students as close to God as they are. Does that make sense? One thing I have started doing is having a devotional before every leader meeting. I read a passage of scripture, usually dealing with leadership, and I talk about it and relate it to youth ministry. This past meeting I shared 1 Thessalonians 2:1-6. I challenge my leadership team to also be in continual prayer. Each week we have a list of students we are praying for. I give each leader a list to keep with them so they have a reminder.

I’m curious on what some others do for their leadership development in this area of creating spiritual healthy leaders.

Leave a Reply

