Your Team

Posted: March 17, 2009 in Youth Ministry
Tags: ,

I’ve been in youth ministry for about 10 years now. A little over 5 of those years have been full-time. The longer I’m in this the more I learn about the team of leaders I build around me.  This team is vital to a healthy youth ministry. You need the right people with a multitude of gifts.

The Crazy Leader – Every YM needs one of these. It keeps the nights fresh and fun. It draws students because they want to see what they are going to do.

The Teaching Leader – You need one in case you are gone and can’t teach.

The Quite Leader – If you are out-going all the time you will scare away the quite students. These leaders like sitting off to the side and having those one-on-one talks.

The “I will do it” Leader – This is the type of leader that is willing to do whatever you ask no matter what the difficulty level. They will try it with all they have.

The Detailed Leader – These are priceless because if you are like me detail does not come naturally. These people find your holes in events.

The Ideas Leader – These people continue to spew out ideas. Some are great and some not so great but it’s better than you doing it all alone.

Did I miss any? As I build and re-build my leadership team, my youth staff, I try to look for what is missing and seek out those that will make us a more complete team.

Comments
  1. Mary says:

    Who is the crazy leader in our group? Oh yeah, it’s you.

Leave a Reply

