A Big Task Ahead

Posted: April 3, 2009 in Youth Ministry
Tags: , , ,

I’ve been at my current church for almost 6 years now. Yea, I know. That’s a long time. And yet, not long enough. I feel like this is where God has me to stay for a long time.  Which is why I am thinking today about a HUGE task ahead of me and I’m sure many other youth pastors. That big task is getting teenagers to understand and experience Jesus.

This week we introduced a new topic that will take us to the end of the school year called, HIM. We are going to be looking only at Jesus. Was he who he said he was? Is he real? What did he teach? Why did he come? Did he really die? Did he really rise from the dead? I asked many students if they had to explain Jesus to a friend would the be able to do that. You know what the answer was? Nothing. Just blank stares. That lead me to truly get fired up about what I do and this series.

I don’t know about you (youthworkers), but we need our teenagers to know and understand who Jesus was and is. It is ESSENTIAL! So, how do you get your students to know and understand Jesus?

You can check out our YM blog where I post all my notes every Friday to see how I’m doing it. I would love ideas if you have them.

Leave a Reply

