New Small Groups

Posted: April 29, 2009 in Programming, Youth Ministry
Tags: ,

“I have a dream” – I would love to see a small group ministry within our youth ministry. I want to see our students grow closer to God and become more like Christ. This small group format I think is something that will help each student. I have seen too many students graduate youth group and graduate from their faith. That saddens me greatly. I have a dream of seeing students graduating from our youth ministry and becoming pastors (in the business field), missionaries (to their neighbors), and a faithful follower of Jesus Christ.

I have tried running small groups in a couple of different ways. One, we had 30 minutes after youth group each week where those who wanted to be a part of a small group could. That only lasted a year. Why? Time. I don’t think 30 minutes is long enough. Plus, that made the weeknight event longer. Two, we tried having it as part of the teaching time. By the time small groups were to meet that left them 15-20 minutes to share and discuss. Definitely not enough time for anything to happen. So, to try starting a small group ministry, as of right now I’m thinking of just trying it in our Sr. High ministry.

Currently, I’m researching SYM’s book, “Small Groups from Start to Finish“. I am finding this resource very helpful. I encourage you to check it out. I’ll keep you posted as to how I’m doing on the adventure.

Do you do small groups? How do you structure it? How did you get started? I’ll take any advice I can get.

Leave a Reply

