Meeting Change

Posted: June 8, 2009 in Programming, Youth Ministry
Tags: , , ,

This past week I sat down with some key people to discuss a change I would like to make. It’s taken me a few years to get to this point. After the meeting, I was glad I took the advice that I read telling me to meet with people to get feedback and to be asked the hard questions before making any changes. These people asked me those hard questions and gave me great feedback. The things we discussed took me in a slightly different direction than I was planning. The planned end was still the same, just a different look and a different way to get there. I never would have thought of that on my own. Their thoughts and ideas made my change look like there was no change. People will hardly notice anything different. The only way a change would be noticed is if you were on our YM staff. This eased my mind as I go forward to plan, recruit, and implement.

So my advice to all those who have power to make changes…talk to key people you trust to get feedback and ask you the hard questions. If you’ve done that what has the outcome been verses the ideas you went to them with?

Leave a Reply

