Speaking @ Camp

Posted: June 24, 2009 in Development, Youth Ministry
Tags: , , ,

I did something new this summer. I was the main speaker at our conference summer camp for Jr. High students. Boy, what an exhilarating experience! It was a pleasure to teach God’s word in a cool new setting. I brought up with me my wife and two boys, along with a baby-sitter (my sister-in-law). I got to do some fun activities, spend quality time with the family, and preach my heart out. I was only able to do it with God’s strength because by the end of the week I was exhausted!

Here are a few things I learned about being a main speaker:

It’s not about you! No matter how many compliments you may receive about your speaking abilities, it all comes down to Jesus Christ. He’s the reason you are there and the students are there. Don’t let your head get big!

Be ready for last minute adjustments. We had a storm come through and the lights were going on and off. So, we turned off the sound equipment in the chapel and did everything acoustic…worship and speaking. Being that there was no mic and a large room full of teenagers I had to quickly figure out how to speak without killing my voice and keeping their attention. So, I pulled up a stool and had the students gather around my on the stage. What was really cool, was this was our salvation message. What a great setting for that!

Share your life. Kids relate to stories and it holds their attention better than anything else.

Spend time with the students and the staff. You not only minister to the students, but also to te staff there that  summer. They are listening and learning, too. Plus, you minister to them and they minister to students. Sometimes I think the staff need it more than the students since they are there all summer long.

Leave a Reply

