Not Power…Power

Posted: July 26, 2009 in Development, Youth Ministry
Tags: , ,

I was at the MORE conference and heard a great message that really resinated with me.  The message came from Dr. Mark Rutland, the president of Oral Roberts University. His message was about the problem Jesus had in communicating. See, the Trinity…what language do they speak? God language. What Jesus had to do was take his native language, God, and translate it into human language. If you have ever had to translate something from one language to another you know the difficulty of this task. The message often times isn’t the same. This is the issue Jesus was having. That is why so many times in Scripture we struggle to know what Jesus ment. His disciples thought they were going to recieve power. The type of power humans think of…authority, litteral power of strength. But Jesus told his disciples NO, not power…you will recieve Power! The power of the Holy Spirit. Not the same thing.

This hit hard because so many times I try to get power. Power of authority; to be in the front stage speaking; to be thought of a great in my field. But when I think about that type of power…that is just rediculous. That is not what we are called to as youth pastors. We are called to preach the good news with the power of the Holy Spirit to share the good news of Jesus Christ. It’s in our powerlessness that we then gain the power.

I need to give up, release myself to Jesus. Allow Him to work through me instead of me trying to do things my way.

Comments
  1. ZDENNY says:

    Your right on target with this!! Keep it up.

    Please send me a friend request on FACEBOOK so that I can get your new post on my page. Just post a link to your facebook so I will see the updates after we are friends. You will get a lot more visits to your post too…Thanks

    http://www.facebook.com/zdennyfamily

  2. Extenze says:

    Hi there, I found your blog via Google while searching for first aid for a heart attack and your post looks very interesting for me.

Leave a Reply

