Student Leadership

Posted: August 3, 2009 in Programming, Youth Ministry
Tags: , ,

This fall, I want to start implementing a student leadership team. I’ve tried in the past, but they never took root and developed. Why? Not sure. It could have been that I didn’t know what I was doing. It could have been that I didn’t put enough time into it. It could have been that I picked the wrong students. It could have even been that it wasn’t the right time in our ministry to start that.

So, what now? As I’m looking at making a few changes in our ministry, this is one that needs to happen in order to be ‘successful’. I’ve noticed that when students take charge and help make the decisions in youth group more students will get on board and be involved. I just need to figure out the structure and the ultimate outcome I would like to see from this group.

How have some of you other youth pastors done this? What has been ‘successful’? What’s been a ‘failure’? Any advice out there? Good recources?

Leave a Reply

