Volunteer Training

Posted: October 15, 2009 in Balance, Development, Youth Ministry
Tags: , ,

The longer I’ve been in youth ministry the more I see my role changing. It used to be that I thought I was the primary person to be with the students in my church, teach them, and disciple them. Well, I have learned that it impossible. It is the volunteer staff that do the ministry. So, now I see my role as the trainer to my leaders who do most of the hand on youth ministry. I’m always looking for way to make them the best that they can be. That comes with teaching them youth ministry…but I seem to struggle with how to do that. My staff works full time or are full college students. They don’t have the time to get a degree in this stuff. I have to be picky and only share with them what is vital to doing ‘successful’ youth ministry.

So, I’m wondering what other youth pastors do to train their staff? What do you see as vital to them? I’d like see if we, or I, can’t create a list of ‘musts’ in volunteer training…after all, if we don’t have those volunteers youth ministry would be non-existent.

Please post your thoughts or comment.

Leave a Reply

