Getting God’s Word Through To Them

Posted: December 18, 2009 in Programming, Youth Ministry

One of my passions is getting students into God’s Word. Why? Because most of my students don’t read it. I started brainstorming ways to get them into it. One way I thought of was a devotional podcast. After all, most students walk around with ear buds in all the time. Anyway, I have thought about doing this for a long time, but never had the resources…well, a web domain that I owned. Well, I’m in the works of getting it rolling. The problem I’m running into is that I don’t want it totally adult led. I really want it to be student lead. Think about it, students listening to other students read the Bible and talk about how it applies to their life. What a great ministry for students. I’ve been testing the waters by telling students that I want to start this. They’ve said that it would be exciting and very useful. Now, if I can only get students to help get the ball rolling.

What do you do to get God’w Word through your students?

Comments
  1. Bill Pickett says:

    I’d let them know I’d be there when they needed guidance, and let them go. The flames are high between religious and non. Attendance is declining overall, its not from losing faith in a greater being, its from losing faith in the church itself. Continual reshuffling of monsters does not demonstrate moral leadership. I’m not talking about yourself, I’m talking about the being that the church is. It must not fail to stop the mystery of Evil simply because the distractions of today are so many that failure simply turns away people, and they go elsewhere. You can preach to your flock all you want but what when they are no longer there? The Bible is a great manual for living life – if you can tease meaning out of the apparent surface contradiction here and there. Perhaps a new-new testament not to replace the existing but to condense overall and work out the fractured meaning would be appropriate? Use that to reach the masses so that those who actually are seeking guidance have a reason to choose you. As for myself, I’m going back to studying metaphysics. God(s) are one of the things you can construct with that – my faith is here but I had to guide myself. Good job, church, not you.

    See my comments in the linked website.

Leave a Reply

