Body Care vs Soul Care

Posted: January 12, 2010 in Body Care
Tags:

One thing I’ve learned after doing youth ministry for over 10 years is that the soul care takes time. It’s a daily struggle to keep focused on building my relationship with God. Because of that focus, I’ve tended to neglect my physical body. So, I joined a local gym about a mile away from my church where I can go and work out. I’m learning there needs to be a good, healthy balance between the soul and the body care. The work outs are also a great way to relieve stress that the ministry can bring on. Today was my first work out. Thanks to my wife, who’s a personal trainer and can’t wait the kick my butt, I’m going to be getting killer work outs! I used to hate working out, but I’m already loving it.

I mention this because a new part of my blog, I would like to put not only soul care stuff and ministry stuff in it, but also stuff about the body and how I’m keeping mine in shape at the ripe ol’ age of 31.

Today’s work out: Climbing Tabatas – My hobby is rock climbing. So I asked my wife for a work out that will strengthen the muscles I use while climbing.

  • These excercises are done for 20 seconds as fast as you can then resting for 10 seconds then repeating it for 5 times. Choose the weight you think fits you better. I left my weight off (not telling because it wasn’t much)
    • Lat. Pulldowns
    • Bent over rows
    • Bicep curls
    • forearm curls

After this work out, I could barely open up doors. Wow! Thanks wife for killing me!

Comments
  1. Brad says:

    What “Ricks” do you climb? Does he care if you climb him? LOL!

Leave a Reply

