All The Resources!

Posted: January 29, 2010 in Programming, Youth Ministry

I run both Jr. High and Sr. High ministries in my church. This doesn’t leave me a whole lot of time to write curriculum so I rely on those that have the time and are gifted in that area. I’ve been looking at a variety of different curriculums.

I recently just got YS’s series by Barry Shaffer ‘See, Believe, Live’, ‘Rock Solid Faith’, and ‘Hear and Do’. I really like the way it’s set up giving the user many different options. I personally like the coffeehouse style that is set up. What’s great is not only do you study a particular book of the bible but it teaches the students how to study their bible! Kills 2 birds with one stone.

Right now, I’m looking at some more curriculum with the intent of student leadership and mission trip prepping. I’m finding LeaderTreks to be a great resource. I have bought their ‘Leadership 365’. It’s a book about how to set up a student leadership team and about a years worth of curriculum. I haven’t used the set up part. I have been working on that on my own because I have a particular vision of what I want student leadership to look like, but I will probably use the training materials that come with it. What I am looking at getting is their mission trip prep stuff. It looks solid and help not only prep them, but provide some good materials for while on the trip and post-trip stuff! If you have used it I would love to hear some feedback on what you thought!

There is so much stuff out there that it almost makes it difficult to make decisions on which is best. But I keep on pressing on!

Leave a Reply

