It’s The Little Things

Posted: February 5, 2010 in Balance, Development, Soul Care, Youth Ministry

Yesterday was a hard day. It was the day of our Sr. High ministries outreach night. The people I set up to lead worship for that night had to pull out last minute due to personal reasons. The problem? Trying to find replacements last minute. I’m the kind of guy who works well in making last minute changes, but for some reason this totally drained me. I decided to have myself lead the worship. See, I’m an OK guitar player and a not so good singer. I ended up playing but not singing into a mic.

After figuring all that out, I needed put the final touches on my message. The topic was one of my favorites…relationships. I came at it in a different direction by calling it, “How To Wreck A Relationship”. I get fired up when I get to talk about that. But as the time came closer to the outreach starting, I was feeling less and less like doing ministry. It was feeling like a job because I was so drained emotionally. I didn’t ‘feel it’ (if you know what I mean).

Anyway, it turned out to be one of our best attended outreach events this school year. The student that I asked to share their testimony did a FANTASTIC job. As I was speaking, I felt completely energized. But as soon as I ended…the drain happened. I was exhausted.

Then this happened. As I left the building after locking up I walked to my car. It had been snowing all day and someone brushed off my car. Now you may think nothing of that, but after a hard day the simplest act of kindness goes a long way. If fact, it almost brought me to tears.

It’s the little things that make my job…no… ministry¬†so worth it!

Comments
  1. Kara T says:

    that is AWESOME!

    i have definitely had days when my job felt just like that: a job instead of ministry. (i work as part of our children and family ministries team at my church.) on those days, the little things make all the difference.

    thanks for sharing your “little thing” that reminded you that when God has called you, He will always bring something/someone to remind you why you’re there and brighten your day.

Leave a Reply

