Gaining Weight

Posted: February 11, 2010 in Body Care

I don’t know about you, but I’m a big fan of NBC’s “The Biggest Loser”. Why? Because the story lines are great, the transformation is unbelievable, and my wife is the next Jillian (by that I mean a personal trainer). We do live in a society of obese people and it’s really only here in the US.

Many people in ministry talk about losing weight. Simply Youth Ministries podcast talks about their own biggest loser contest. Perry Noble talks about people in the ministry being over-weight and how to control it. Well, I have a question…

What about those of us who need to GAIN weight?

I’m 6 foot even at 150 pounds soaking wet. All my life I’ve been told how unhealthy it is to be this skinny. On growth charts, I was always WAY below normal on the weight. I would try and try to gain weight to be ‘healthy’ but could never put it on. In college, instead of gaining the freshman 15…I lost 15.

I think there should be a show or competition for those who need to gain weight. Although, not the bad kind of weight. It needs to be monitored and done in a healthy manner…not by eating fried food that is only clogging arteries.

How does this pertain to ministry? It’s the same concept as if it were by an over weight person. What am I telling those in my ministry by being unhealthy in the way I eat…just because I can and it doesn’t visually affect me. What am I telling those in my ministry by being too skinny? There needs to be a balance of spiritual health and physical health.

Anyone up for “The Biggest Gainer”?

Here’s what I’ve been doing. I joined a local gym called Fitness 19. I’ve been trying to make it 3 times a week to do lifting. After lifting, I go have a drink a protein shake and eat lots of yogurt, whole milk, nuts, and eggs.

Comments

Leave a Reply

