Conviction During My Own Message

Posted: February 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

The other night I started a series in our Jr. High program about developing a media filter. I’m basing my talks off of cpyu.org‘s 3D process. As I was speaking, I was thinking to myself about how much TV I watch and what shows I like. TV is an out for me. My wife and I enjoy spending time together on the couch relaxing with the TV on. Usually, that’s when I rub my wife’s feet each night. But, I went through the list of shows in my mind thinking that maybe I shouldn’t watch some of them. I was also thinking that “Hey, I’m an adult. I know what wrong and what’s right. I can ‘ignore’ the wrong stuff and still watch my shows.” Is that right? One of my favorite show’s is NBC’s “The Office”. It is the funniest show I have ever seen. If I line it up with Ephesians 5:1-11 what should I do?

This also brings to mind the thought that if we stick to the message in Ephesians we can’t really watch any TV…that includes many cartoons, too.

So, that’s what I’m wrestling with today. Love to hear any thoughts on what you do.

Leave a Reply

