Down before Up

Posted: March 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

I like to rock climb on my day off as a stress relever and form of excersise. Today I got to a point in a climb where I was getting tired. I went up to the next clip in and was lossing strength so I climbed back down to my last clip to rest. I did this about three time. Why do I share this with you?

Often times in ministry, we need to go down (or back a few steps) before we can continue and grow our ministry. I was there about a year ago. We lost our biggest class of seniors which cut our group in half. I was now having on a weekly basis 10-15 students. We were used to 25-30 students. This year, I revamped the way we do ministry to find that we are growing again. On a weekly average we have about 40 each week. It’s interesting though. We moved to a small group based ministry, where 3 out of the 4 weeks in a month are small groups. I was going into this year thinking we would lose some kids and have a slow start to this change. Well, yes is was a slow start, but it took less time than I and my leaders thought it would take. As far as the numbers? Well, we lost maybe one or two students, but gained about 5-8 more new kids.

I’ve seen this over and over again in my life as I’ve done ministry. How have you seen in your ministry you having to go back a few steps before you can go forward (or up)?

Leave a Reply

