Not Qualified

Posted: March 17, 2010 in Devotional, Soul Care, Youth Ministry

“God has united you with Christ Jesus. For our benefit God made him to be wisdom itself. Christ made us right with God; he made us pure and holy, and he freed us from sin.” 1 Corinthians 1:30

I share that verse because of what Paul writes just before this. Paul is writing to the church in Corinth that God uses the foolish, powerless, and the despised to bring shame to those who think they are wise, who think they have power. I read that and think, “Why would God use me?” There are so many other men and women who do a far better job than I do at sharing the love of Christ to teenagers. There are better speakers, better disciplers (if that’s a word), better programs, people who connect better with teens than I do.

Yes, I am foolish. Some of my ideas are really lame and fail miserably. I am a powerless person. The amount of power I have is slim to none. I have very little pull in much of anything. I am despised many time. Why? Because people either don’t like what I preach or they don’t like the way I do ministry.

Here’s the thing. I can only do this, youth ministry, through to power of Jesus Christ. You can only do ministry through the power of Jesus Christ. We can’t do any of this on our own strength. If we do…IT WILL FAIL! But we need to tap into the wisdom of Christ (v. 30). It is by the grace of God that I have been made pure and holy! It’s not by anything of have done or not done. That’s why it’s called GRACE! It’s only by the power, life, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.

My hope and prayer is that I, and you, don’t let pride get in the way of doing ministry. Keep on trekking on in this crazy world of ministry…youth ministry that is.

Leave a Reply

