Leaders that Last

Posted: April 15, 2010 in Development, Youth Ministry
Tags: , ,

One of the things I want to work on is my personal leadership. I feel that I’m an OK leader, but I want to move from OK, to good, to great. One of the things that’s been on my mind lately is how to make that move. I’ve been doing some self reflecting to try and figure out how I lead and where to start in my leadership journey.

Being in youth ministry long enough I have learned that it’s the leadership you have in place that can make or break the ministry. Leaders that last, make the ministry last. I’ve noticed younger students being excited about moving up, not because I was the youth pastor, but because of the adult leaders I have put in place.

On my leadership journey, I want to learn, develop, and implement things that will want my leaders to last the long haul. Here’s what I’ve been trying lately.

  • Phone calls asking how I can be praying for them.
  • Random gifts in the mail.
  • Give them freedom and¬†flexibility (I don’t micro-manage them)
  • Get their thoughts, ideas, comments and actually use them.
  • I pass the praise. If parent thanks me for something, I usually attribute it to the students small group leader. And then I go and tell that leader what the parent just told me.

What do you do to lengthen the time of your leaders? If you are under a leader, what keeps you on their team?

Leave a Reply

