Ministry has changed a lot over the years. I’m finding that it’s becoming the norm to be doing a bulk of youth ministry on the web. Why is that? I think it’s because most students don’t want or have the time to hang out. They are always on the computer, cell phone, or gaming system. With the coming of cheaper texting services, facebook, easy to design websites, the options are almost limitless. Here’s what I’ve tried and the results.

Online Book Club – I have many students want to read books but never had time to get together to discuss them. So I set up a forum. We chose a book and started reading it. That lasted about a week. This project failed.

Facebook – I don’t send out postcards any more. Some of my advertising of events are on our youth group fan page. Most of the parents in our church on it and 90% of our students. Another way we get information out is via text. I know that’s not on the web, but I just wanted to through that in there.

Website – I was finding it more and more difficult to get what I wanted on our church’s website. So, I talked with a website guru trying to find easy to use, cool looking websites. He suggested WordPress. I jumped on that. The options are limitless, easy to update, and just plain fun! We have a youth webpage that looks good while parents and student enjoy the postings. Currently, we are adding a few things like guest posts and a ‘Christian Living’ type section. With some of those changes, we are looking at changing the look while we are at it.

Podcasting – I noticed that about 90% of our students came walking into our youth room with their earbuds in and iPod in hand. I thought to myself, “I need to utilize that technology”. So, once I set up the website, I start recording our midweek messages and putting them on iTunes. Then, I took it one step further and started a Devo Podcast. These are short 5 minute (or so) thoughts on a particular bible passage. Occasionally, we have guests. One post is from a student and another from a volunteer leader.

Here’s what I’ve found about doing youth ministry on the web…students open up more when they aren’t face-to-face.

What are some ways you do youth ministry over the World Wide Web? What have the results been?

Leave a Reply

