May Flowers? No, May Stress!

Posted: May 24, 2010 in Balance, Soul Care, Youth Ministry
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This month has been one of THE most stressful months I’ve had in a LONG time! 3 things happened this month (Technically 4).

  1. (and 2.) – Spring retreats! I had 2 retreats to plan. This year was a different year. A family in our church let us use their summer cabin so we could have an affordable retreat. Rather than the usual $100 retreat, we did a $35 retreat. The stress? All the cooking, cleaning, and speaking. The nice part? I have a great volunteer staff who did all the teaching! I love it! It was still stressful for me, but less than it could have been.
  2. Preaching. I agreed to preach one Sunday this month because our Sr. Pastor was going to be out of town at a conference. I love preaching, but the prep and the stress on my wife adds to the stress on me.
  3. My personal 2008 taxes were audited! Anything dealing with the government and IRS is not easy and fun. I received the notice that I was being audited about a month ago. The earliest they could get me in for the actual audit was this past week! Having that looming over my head was NOT pleasant at all.

With all that over, life can resume as normal. WAIT! I’m in full time youth ministry…is there ever anything normal?

Leave a Reply

