Happy/Sad Good-Byes

Posted: June 4, 2010 in Youth Ministry
Tags: , ,

Thursday, June 3rd, was a sad and happy day. Sad, because I had to say good-bye to our seniors. This class was my first class that has been with me since their 6th grade year. If you do the math, that’s 7 years I got to be with them. I do have to admit that through out the day as I thought of the ol’ ‘good-bye’ I would start to tear up. Then it came to be that I actually said something in youth group that I actually cried in front of the youth group. This was also a happy moment for me as I reflected on their journey and how much they have grown. I think I’m pretty safe to say that they will do pretty well in the “real world”.

I guess that happens in youth ministry…you spend 7 years pouring into their lives trying to prepare them for the next phase. You have to say ‘Good-Bye’. I’m reminded of when my parents had to say that to me as they dropped me off at college. Hopefully all that I taught them will come to mind and they will seek God’s face, wisdom, and direction as they keep going.

Let’s see what happens…

Leave a Reply

