Speaking of Summer

Posted: June 16, 2010 in Programming, Youth Ministry
Tags: , , ,

During the summer our ministry slows down. We do this for a couple of reasons.

  1. Less staff = less adults = less events – This is because I give my volunteer staff the summer off.
  2. It allows me to focus on the next school year and the direction I feel God wants me to take the group.
  3. Less students – many families go away during the summer. Plus, many students work at summer camps all summer long.

So this summer I want to try something new. Video announcements to keep students updated with what’s going on. I also am deeming this summer the “Summer of Give A Ways”. It’s not really, but it makes students think they really are winning something. Well…they are. Here’s what I mean. I will send out a mass text/facebook/video message telling everyone where I am. The ____ amount of people to show up will get a free lunch/Caribou/ t-shirt/etc. (depending on my location). Yes, it’s free for them (I’m buying), but it’s a way for me to get to spend time with students.

Have you ever done something like this? What was it like? Did it work? For me…we’ll see. I hope so.

Leave a Reply

