Personal Growth Plan

Posted: September 23, 2010 in Balance, Development, Leadership, Soul Care
Tags: ,

I talk to a lot of students, and adults for that matter, about growing spiritually. It’s a ‘tough’ thing to answer when people ask you, “How can I grow spiritually? What do I have to do?”. My gut instinct is to ask them in my sarcastic voice (I try really hard not to use it in reality), “When was the last time you read your bible?” (Duh!) I know it sounds like a simple solution, but people don’t think about it. As a society, we want quick fixes. Fortunately, a growing relationship with God is not a quick happening…and regular relationships for that matter. Relationships take time.

Everyone has their way of connecting with God and growing closer to him. My Sr. Pastor put together a plan for people to try out different ways of growing closer to God. It’s like a buffet of spiritual disciplines (acts) to see which ones you like and connect with. Personally, I like to listen to podcasts of pastors preaching. Many of them are extremely challenging. One of the ones I listen to is Perry Noble at New Spring Church. He just posted an article called ‘10 Personal Growth Questions‘.  One of his questions caught me:

#9 – Do I know more lines from the movies that I love than verse from the Bible that I read? (Psalm 119:11)

I encourage you to check out the rest of the questions he asks and do a check-up on your spiritual growth. As a leader, I have to be constantly growing with my Saviour because I can’t lead people where I am not.

Leave a Reply

