Radical Normalcy?

Posted: October 27, 2010 in Development, Devotional, Soul Care
Tags: ,

I’ve been reading the book of Acts lately in my quiet times. I was struck by something Paul did. Many times he shares his encounter with Jesus to all who are listening. He talks openly about who he was before Jesus stopped him in his tracks, about his interaction with Jesus, and who he is at that moment. In Acts 26, Paul shares his story to King Agrippa. I love this interaction they have…

Agrippa interrupted him. “Do you think you can persuade me to become a Christian so quickly?” Paul replied, “Whether quickly or not, I pray to God that both you and everyone here in this audience might become the same as I am, except for these chains.

Paul’s desire, which he is open about, is that everyone would come to saving faith in Jesus Christ. Here’s one thing that catches me…the encounter Paul had with Jesus radically changed his life. In fact, every person in the New Testament who had an encounter with Jesus was radically changed. This thought brought a question to mind…

Why don’t many ‘Christians’ seem to change? Most of them/us seem to just stay the same.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to stay the same. I long and desire for an everyday encounter with Christ so that my life will change to be more and more like him.

What’s your encounter like?

Leave a Reply

