Professional Growth

Posted: November 3, 2010 in Development, Leadership, Youth Ministry
Tags: ,

Over the last year, I’ve really been trying to focus on my professional growth. I struggle with this, too. I want to push myself to be the best at what I do. What do I do? I lead youth ministry. Why do I want to be the best? Because I want to see leaders being developed and student finding Jesus as their Lord and Savior.

So how do you push yourself to be the best?

I feel that if we don’t push ourselves as youth workers, we’ll lose out and burn out. I was reading Adam McLane’s post on growing. You can find it here. It really pushed me to think about this more. What do you think?

Here’s a little snap shot at what I do to grow professionally. I read. I love to read books. If you have any good suggestions on good books that are youth ministry related, please let me know. I talk with other youth workers. One thing I started doing is leading my network. This allows me to ask those hard questions on growing and get others feedback on what they do. I go to conferences. I’ve only really been to YS’s NWYC. I’ve gone 2 years and LOVED it. I loved connecting with the ‘professional’s’ and others in the trenches with me. I also have done some one day seminars. I’ve gone to Youth Leadership training sessions. They small, discussion oriented, and a great way to network.

Leave a Reply

