Q and A Experiment

Posted: January 10, 2011 in Culture, Leadership, Programming, Youth Ministry
Tags: , , , , ,

Over the last year, I’d say, I’ve been listening to Pastors Craig Groeschel and Perry Noble. I subscribe to their church’s podcast. Recently, I heard them do a Q & A service where the people in the service text, email, or call in questions for them to answer. I thought to myself, “Wow! That’s pretty cool.” Then I proceeded to think if it would work in my youth ministry. Why wouldn’t it, right? This is how I did it.

I created a phone number through Google Voice. I gave out that number to all the students to text in questions about life, God, spirituality…anything. The reason for the Google Voice number is for anonymity. I wanted to student to feel safe to anything. If it went to my phone I would be too tempted to really find out who they were. Once I read them, I deleted them.

I received some very interesting questions. Everything from dating to Christ’s death. I held it as a discussion. We would hear or read the question and before I answered it I let others chime in. Once it felt like a good time, I would come in with what Scripture says. I think that many students (even some leaders) didn’t agree with me on some things (the more cultural things), but I had to come straight with what God’s Word says. The attitude I had and voiced what that they are free to disagree with me, but I just telling them what God’s word says…the Truth.

We only got through a fraction of the questions because the discussion what so good.

I think this was one of the best teaching moments I’ve had in a long time. What a great way to teach students exactly what they want to hear and learn.

Have you tried something like this? How did it go?

By the way, based on feedback right away after youth group, we will be doing this again…soon!

Leave a Reply

