Inside My Mind Before I Speak

Posted: January 13, 2011 in Development, Leadership, Youth Ministry
Tags: , , ,

I recently read Doug Fields blog post about speaking at it reminded me of the reaction I get when people ask me if I get nervous before I speak in front of groups. My answer is a huge “YES“.  I always get nervous. It doesn’t matter if it’s a small group of people or a time when I preach on a Sunday morning. The day of, as I think about what I’m going to speak on, I begin to get nervous. Why? Because I wonder if the listener will track with me, see Christ through my words, and if they will encounter Jesus. Will my words make sense? Will I speak clearly? Will I stick my foot in my mouth and regret something I might say? What if I say something theologically wrong? It begins to snowball.

Then right before I begin to speak…as I open my Bible and my notes…I begin to calm down, a little. But once the words start coming out of my mouth I have no nerves or fears. In fact, most of the time I don’t really remember everything I’ve said. Weird, huh?

After I’m done talking, I’m usually thinking…I need water! Other times, I wonder if anyone will come to me to ask questions or to clarify. Sometime I wonder if anyone will come to me with a cool story I can add into it for the next time I use that message.

Overall, it’s that thrill that I get from speaking that keeps me doing it and want to do it more and more. I know most people have a fear of public speaking. Me? Bring it on!

Leave a Reply

