Been Gone?

Posted: January 31, 2011 in Soul Care
Tags: , , , ,

I don’t know if you are a parent or not. I have 2 incredible little boys who are 4 and 2. They love to wrestle with their dad. And to be honest, I love doing it. Those 2 boys are my world, my life, my responsibility.

Every once in a while a parent needs a break and ships their kid(s) to the grandparents. It’s typically a great week(end). My wife and I do that on occasion. I have to be honest, though, I really miss them when they are gone. The idea of being away from them seems glorious as you plan it, but when they are gone…I miss them like crazy. I go into their rooms at night and stare into that empty bed they share. I listen to the quiet that fills the house. I notice the much smaller messes that cover the house. This past weekend, while my boys were gone, God spoke to me late at night. This is what he was telling me.

“If you think you miss them that much, just think about how much I miss you when you don’t spend a day with me.”

OUCH! How many of us have taken a trip the “grandparents” to get away from our Heavenly Father? Have you been gone from Him for a while? He’s calling for you to come back.

Leave a Reply

