It Wasn’t The Shack

Posted: April 4, 2011 in Balance, Soul Care
Tags: , , , , ,

I just returned from my first weekend of sabbatical at a prayer cabin. Man, was it weird. I went into it not knowing what to expect. When I arrived to my quaint little cabin (pictures at bottom of post), I was struck with how quiet it was. What did I do? I did a Crossfit WOD! It was fun and a great way to start my weekend. I walked around the muddy grounds to check everything out. The outhouse was just a few yards away and the shower house was just up the hill. What was hard to get used to was the idea that there was no running water. Just a water cooler and a sink. I did have a refrigerator and a microwave. For breakfasts, I took a hot plate to make eggs.

Once I got settled in and feeling comfortable I started in on my retreat guide. It’s called, “Learning to Hear God” by Jan Johnson. It’s a really good guide to having conversations with God. Makes you think and is completely scripture based. I wasn’t sure how fast to go through it, so I went at a pace that felt comfortable with large breaks in between conversations. I would go on a hike, take a nap, or eat.

I also started another book. Craig Groeschel’s book, “The Christian Atheist”. I’ll write more on this book when I finish reading it…which won’t be long because it’s an easy book to read, yet very challenging.

What else happened on this retreat? Well, as I mentioned, I didn’t know what to expect. I wasn’t sure if I would have an experience like the one that happened in “The Shack” or if I would just sit in silence. The miraculous, or the boring. Nothing miraculous happened, but I did encounter God (not boring). He taught me something. He taught me to continually converse with Him. That he speaks to me all the time and it won’t be in that LOUD, miraculous way. He’ll speak to me in my spirit, in my friends, and in His word. That’s good enough for me.

What’s next? More reading, more conversing with my Savior, and more learning!

Here are some pictures of the cabin that I took.

Comments
  1. […] first weekend away for prayer, silence, and just hanging out with my Savior. (You can read about it here.)  With my sabbatical coming to an end here shortly, I thought going back would be a great ending, […]

Leave a Reply

