A Needed Return

Posted: April 11, 2011 in Culture, Development, Devotional, Soul Care
Tags: , ,

The other day I was reading my Bible and something hit me. It hit me HARD! It was this…

“But I have this complaint against you. You don’t love me or each other as you did at first!” Revelation 2:4

I have completely lost the love that I once had for my Savior, Jesus. This absolutely kills me inside. I’m to the point of being sick about it. When I read this, it was as if the letter that was written to Ephesus, was actually written to me. I haven’t been able to shake this thought from my head over that last 2 days. It’s almost as if my relationship with Jesus has become a religion. Now, my thoughts about religion is that it’s a list of things you must do. My life became a list: read bible – Check; pray (if and when I did) – Check; Go to church – check; and the list could go on. I don’t want a religion or a religious life. What I want is a deep, fruitful relationship with my savior, Jesus. But I’ve lost that love. I need and long to gain that back.

How should I go about getting that? Honest, quality time. Not out of obligation, but out of love. I have to admit that this is going to be very difficult. But I think it’s doable. Just like anything else.

For those of you who have lost that love, how did your love grow back? What are some things you did? What are some things that worked or didn’t work?

Comments

Leave a Reply

