If you remember, about 3 months ago I wrote a post about my first weekend away for prayer, silence, and just hanging out with my Savior. (You can read about it here.)  With my sabbatical coming to an end here shortly, I thought going back would be a great ending, as it was a great way to start.

So, what happened this time at the prayer cabin? A lot of reading. My goal this time was to just get away with no agenda other than reading. I think I read somewhere between 150 to 200 pages. For some of you that might not be a lot, but for me, that huge. What did I read? I read The Divine Conspiracy: Rediscovering Our Hidden Life In God (See all Conspiracy Theory Books), Next Generation Leader: 5 Essentials for Those Who Will Shape the Future, of course the Bible, and I did a few conversations in Living in the Companionship of God: A Personal Retreat Guide. What I tried to do was a conversation in Jan Johnson’s book in the morning and evening. During the day read The Divine Conspiracy. After several hours of reading I had to take a break on Saturday. I went for about a 2 1/2 hour hike through the trails of The Wilderness Fellowship. That hike was refreshing to see God’s creation in full swing with animals going all over the place. In fact, later that day after I ate dinner, I continued my reading and outside my window was a beautiful doe staring in at me. That was pretty cool. I’ve never had anything like that happen before.

As a result of this trip, I came to a personal conclusion that I would like to do this kind of thing at least once a year. I truly felt God speaking to me…even as I read books other than the Bible.

I have one last thing to do before I end this sabbatical…and that is celebrate my 10th anniversary with my amazing wife!

Leave a Reply

