Creating Good Discussion

Posted: August 8, 2011 in Events, Programming, Youth Ministry
Tags: , , , , ,

This week I’m speaking at Trout Lake Camps. When I’m speaking, especially in a camp setting, I want my talks to create great discussion when they leave. At this camp they have cabin discussion time right after chapel. I wonder if they are going to discuss what I taught on. You might be asking yourself…”Self, What did he teach on?” I’m glad you asked. I spoke from Matthew 5, 6, & 7, aka The Sermon on the Mount. My overall theme was ‘Jesus was weird’. Weird is being different than normal and that’s exactly what Jesus was and taught. I think most of us have discovered that normal doesn’t really work anyway. After all, Jesus want’s us to live a life to the full, so I’m sure his teachings are going to lead us in that direction. I picked three specific things to talk on and encouraged them to read the rest of the 3 chapter. The three I dove into were money, lust, and judging. All three, I believe, are things teen and young teens wrestle with the most.

What do you think? Do you think those three topics would cause a good discussion in their cabins? We’ll see. I’ll ask the counselors in the morning.

Comments

Leave a Reply

