Feeling It

Posted: August 18, 2011 in Culture, Development, Leadership, Youth Ministry
Tags: , ,

The longer I’ve been in youth ministry and the older I get the more I feel it. It’s called the “Generational Gap”. I think it happens to everyone, but I honestly thought it wouldn’t start happening already. It sort of depressing. Things in the culture used to come so easy, but it’s changing so fast that I struggle keeping up. The students are changing so quickly that as soon as I understand them and what’s going on…it’s old news.

That’s why I’m so thankful for my volunteers that are younger and deep in that culture. They relate so well and can hold those challenging conversations with the students. As opposed to my conversations which are all about explaining things to me. I also love the tools of CYPU, Group, and slew of other culture websites that I should be reading more of.

How do you stay involved in the youth culture? Where do you get your information? Maybe it’s a tool I can use.

Leave a Reply

