Can I Handle It?

Posted: September 7, 2011 in Balance, Leadership, Youth Ministry

Here’s a draft I found that I wrote a long time ago. Thought I’d share it with you.

There’s one thing in ministry that’s hard to handle… criticism. What makes it so hard? Well, the ministry you run is your ‘baby’. You care deeply for those in your flock, those you’ve placed in leadership, it’s a huge part of who you are.  Someone criticizes your ministry or your character and it’s like a sword in your heart. It’s painful.

How do you handle it? Here’s what I did today after a striking blow…I hit the gym and I hit it HARD. The feelings in me came out in my push jerks where I PR’d by 40 pounds! I killed the WOD in my crossfit gym. Sure, that felt good, but the rest of the day was…off. I had little energy to want to deal with people.

Here’s to better days!

Comments
  1. oh man, do i know that sort of day! average bad days can get worked out in the gym, really bad days can only be solved with chinese buffet 🙂 but no matter how bad a particular day is, thankfully, God’s grace and mercy are new every morning. so, maybe the best way to deal is to just go to bed early.

    here is to better days!

Leave a Reply

